Soul Train Awards 2015 Recap/Review

Kinfolk the 2015 Soul Train has come and gone and I am here to give you my two cents. Queen Erykah Badu hosted the awards and I must say she did an awesome job handling her hosting duties. She also did an awesome job cross promoting her new mixtape But You Caint Use My Phone. The shade she threw at Iggy Azalea was EPIC. Her comedy & sarcasm were a perfect fit for the show. Now let’s get down to the nitty gritty the performances.

Black Ty AKA Tyrese performed Shame, and he did an awesome lip sync job. Ty is at his best when he is singing or acting and not giving his opinions and advice on Twitter or in self help books. Next up was Jeremih and he opened with a song I am not familiar with, which lead into his hit Planes. The only missing was Jermaine Cole AKA J. Cole, not sure exactly why many celebrities who needed to be at this show were missing.

Jill Scott was honored with the Lady of Soul Award and performed a medley of her hits. I am always HERE for a Jill Scott performance because she always gives the audience a dynamic show. Jazmine Sullivan kicked off the Babyface tribute with her hit Let It Burn, she is another one who I am always HERE for! Her performance lead into After 7 performing, Ready or Not, Melvin Edmonds(Babyface’s brother) was missing from the performance. Upon doing my Googles I discovered he has struggled with drug abuse and also had issues dealing with business side of the music industry so he opted to leave the group in the 2000’s. If remember correctly the tribute was paused.

Erica Campbell came out in her Mighty Morphin Power Rangers get up and performed Little More Jesus, but she should have performed I Luh God because it’s for damn sure she won’t be performing at the BET Hip Hop Awards anytime soon. She was followed by Tasha Cobbs who performed a soul stirring rendition of her hit, Put A Praise On It, which had me standing up on the couch. I enjoyed the gospel section of the show.

Still trying to figure out why there was break in the Babyface tribute, but the tribute continued with Tevin Campbell singing, Can We Talk. he just looked happy to be on stage and we’re happy he is still with us. Brandy came out and sang, Sittin Up In My Room.  It’s clear that her stint on Broadway(Chicago) helped out her stage show, as singing has never been an issue for her. Then Fantasia Barrino came out and pretty much stole the show singing Whitney Houston’s Exhale(Shoop, Shoop) and Karyn White’s Superwoman. Listen here, Fantasia can sing about bagels and GOTDAMN biscuits, I am HERE for it!

Bobby Brown performed next and in leiu of the fact that Bobbi Kris recently passed, I’ll just say her he did the best he DAMN could with Roni with the a little help from Babyface. Roni is and will always be my jam, it’s undeniable!  Boyz II Men performed, I’ll Make Love To You/End of the Road, and of course Wanyé over sang per his usual, but it was a good trip down memory lane. Babyface closed out the tribute performing, Whip Appeal, and when I tell you Laurie”Boom Kack” Ann Gibson danced for her GOTDAMN life.

Babyface gave a good performance. Only thing missing from this tribute was Toni Michele Braxton, but apparently she was booked. There was also chatter about Karyn White not being included in the tribute, so of course she hopped on her trusty Facebook and issued a response. She still looks stunning and who knew she had an album out? I didn’t but I don’t proclaim to know everything. At the end of the day I think the honoree chooses the performers they want to perform, so maybe Babyface didn’t want her present. All in all it was an awesome tribute.

The, Soul Cypher featuring  new engaged Chrisette Michele, Lalah Hathaway, K-Ci, and Eddie Levert was another great performance. K-Ci stanky legging in the back and trying to go toe-to-toe with Eddie Levert only added to my enjoyment. K-Ci got the most out of his pass from the rehab, and left it all on the stage. Erykah Badu closed out the soul cypher. Cameo came out and performed Word-Up, which nobody was really HERE for! Everyone was waiting for Candy, and they didn’t perform it. The lead singer seemed like he just came for the snacks and drinks.

R Kelly closed out the show in his “I’m trying to fit in with my young nephews” short set and performed all of hits and a new song titled Backyard Party. I give Kels his 10’s, but this trying to keep up Trey Songz and Co. act is old and played out. Robert Kelly I am begging you to stop this foolishness and just make good music. We know your more than capable of it.

The 2015 Soul Train Awards was everything that the American Music Awards wasn’t and actually showcased Soul/R&B, which the Weeknd(Fake Ass Michael Jackson) is not! Centric, BET, and Devil(Debra) Lee did an awesome job with this year’s awards. Erykah Badu was an excellent host, she didn’t do too much and her sarcasm warms my heart.

Whut say you ?

 

 

Say Whut!?!